Olay vs. Nivea

So today, I am starting an experiment to compare Olay Quench Body Lotion: Advanced Healing and Nivea Essentially Enriched Daily Lotion for Very Dry, Rough Skin.

The Olay lotion, which is “fragrance free with vitamin E & Vita-Niacin”, claims to “help heal skin’s moisture barrier and prevent dry skin from coming back”. On the back, it says this:

Intensive moisture from Olay quenches dry skin and helps prevent it from coming back.
Quench, fragrance free with vitamin E & Vita-Niacin, is advanced body care. This breakthrough non-greasy formula does more than simply moisturize, it helps heal skin’s moisture barrier to prevent dry skin from coming back. First, Quench provides an immediate burst of intensive moisture that continues for 24 hours. Then, drawn deep into the skin’s surface, it repairs and nourishes the moisture barrier, strengthening skin’s resilience against everyday drying conditions. The result? Advanced moisturization that breaks the cycle of dry skin.

The Nivea lotion, which has “Sea Minerals, Vitamin E, & Almond Oil”, claims to “dramatically improve skin condition over time”. On the back, it says this:

Essentially Enriched
Indulge in rich, nourishing moisture.
Specifically formulated for Very Dry to Rough Skin, Essentially Enriched gives your skin the intensive moisture it needs. Within two weeks, Essentially Enriched transforms Very Dry Skin into healthier, more nourished, hydrated skin.

  • Dramatically reduced dryness
  • Softer, smoother skin texture
  • Healthier, well- balanced skin

Enriched with Natural Sea Minerals, Vitamin E and Almond Oil, this unique formula dramatically improves the skin’s condition for touchably soft skin every day.

Whew! That was a lot to type. I guess I should say that I am in no way affiliated with Olay or Nivea, that all that stuff up there is not my opinion, but just words straight from the bottles, huh? Well, there, I said it. I am not affiliated. I am just curious and want to experiment.

So, here is my general experimental design. Every time I shower, which is not necessarily every day, I will slather on lotion. I will slather the Olay lotion onto my left leg, and the Nivea lotion on my right leg. By “leg”, I mean from my below my knees to my ankles, on the front and back side of my lower leg, and any dry patches on the respective leg. I suppose I should carry this on for at least two weeks. Or if their claims are made based on number of times you use actually use the lotion, 14 days. I guess I will start with two weeks, and possibly extend it from there. I started this experiment today, so today is day 1.

I will try to be scientific about this. The purpose of this experiment is to determine whether the selected Olay or Nivea lotion is more effective, and to determine whether each lotion lives up to its claims. The efficacy of each lotion will be judged on how dry each leg (as earlier defined) is at the end of the experimental period. The leg that is not as dry will determine the winning lotion. In that sense, the independent variable is the type of lotion used, and the dependent variable is the dryness of skin. As for the control variable.. I suppose that would be the front sides of my upper legs, which I never put lotion on. And as for my hypothesis… I think that the Olay lotion will be more effective because it is newer and Olay gave a full rebate offer, meaning that they are pretty confident that their product is superb.

I do hope that I keep up with this experiment! Please stay tuned.

This is part 1 of the 7 part series on this! Read the rest: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

This entry was posted in Olay vs. Nivea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

